The INTERREG V A programme

2014-2020 Greater Region

The Greater Region INTERREG V A programme supports cross-border co-operation projects between local and regional actors from the territories comprising the Greater Region.

Through these cross-border, co-operative efforts, the programme aims to strengthen the territorial, social and economic cohesiveness of the Greater Region’s space by reducing the negative effects of borders.

Local projects as well as large-scale actions at the level of the Greater Region’s territory can also be supported.

INTERREG V A Grande Region website

The territory of the Greater Region

The Greater Region is a composite space that brings together four member States of the European Union – Luxembourg, France, Germany and Belgium, five regions, and three languages (German, French, and Luxembourgish).

Covering a surface area of 65,401 km2, the Greater Region hosts a population of approximately 11.4 million inhabitants.

The authorities that are the programme’s partners

Eleven authorities that are partners of the Greater Region have jointly developed the co-operation programme and support its implementation:

  • The Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg,
  • Wallonia,
  • The Wallonia-Brussels Federation,
  • The German-speaking Community of Belgium,
  • The Prefecture of the Greater Eastern Region,
  • The Greater Eastern Regional Council,
  • The Departmental Council of Meurthe-et-Moselle,
  • The Departmental Council of the Meuse,
  • The Departmental Council of the Moselle,
  • The Land of Rhineland-Palatinate,
  • The Sarreland.

140 million Euros from the ERDF for supporting cross-border projects

The Greater Region INTERREG V A programme has been assigned a budget envelope of approximately 140 million Euros from the ERDF (EUR 139,802,646).

As the projects can be co-financed to a maximum level of 60% by the ERDF, projects with a total volume of 233 million Euros can be supported under the framework of the programme.

The programme’s priority themes

The strategy of the Greater Region INTERREG V A programme is built around a tripartite structure involving “employment, territorial development, and the economy” which places supporting employment on the Greater Region’s labour market at the core of the priorities.

The projects co-financed must fall under one of the Programme’s four priority orientations:

  • Priority orientation 1: To pursue the development of an integrated labour market by supporting education, training, and by facilitating physical mobility
  • Priority orientation 2: To ensure development that is environmentally friendly and which is friendly to the living environment
  • Priority orientation 3: To improve living conditions
  • Priority orientation 4: To reinforce the competitiveness and attractiveness of the Greater Region

The first steps in a cross-border project…

A cross-border nature is essential for any Greater Region INTERREG project: It is developed and implemented as a minimum by two partner operators from two different member States in the planning zone.

However, a cross-border structure (single beneficiary) may also, by itself, sponsor and execute an INTERREG project.

The “cross-border added value” of the project must be clearly demonstrated and the objectives must form part of the strategy of the co-operation programme by contributing significantly to one of the ten objectives of the Greater Region INTERREG V A programme.